Tuesday, March 21, 2017


7th out of 43 drivers, we'll take it!

Following the first autoX of the year, NMS is proud to report that the official results have the NMS Abarth in 7th place overall on PAX time, which would be the best place ever for driver Bob Nixon. While he was only 3rd in the H Street class, the HS guys took 3 of the top 7 overall, so that makes 3rd in class sound a little bit better!

Once the drivers have their actual driving time, (down to the thousandth of a second), then each time is multiplied by a factor that attempts to level the playing field. This results in what is called the PAX time. Then, with everyone's PAX time, the Tidewater Sports Car Club uses a 100 point scale to award year-long championship points. 

The fastest PAX driver always gets 100 points. After that, just divide the other driver's times into the winners PAX time, and there you have some number less than 100. Add up the best points results from 7 of the 9 events all year, and there you have the club champion. 

After finishing 20th last year, the NMS FIAT driver is shooting for 15th or better, so this first event of the year will help meet that goal. Sure, it was cold and slippery out there, and some very fast drivers stayed  home on Sunday, but you've got to play the game if you want to win!

Here are our UNOFFICIAL points calculations, so we'll just say that we'll once again claim FASTEST ITALIAN CAR OF THE DAY!

Pax  Driver Car  Pax Time Points
1 Oliver Lucier 2010 Porsche Boxster S 36.404 100
2 Keith Kasmire TDI Wagon 36.439 99.9
3 George Sklyarevsky 2012 Mustang Boss302 36.603 99.45
4 Stephen Fehr 2010 Porsche Boxster S 37.521 97.02
5 Chris Parsons VW TDI  37.559 96.92
6 Travis Wall 2001 Pontiac Firebird 37.849 96.18
7 Robert Nixon 2013 Fiat 500 Abarth 37.862 96.14

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.