Sunday, November 27, 2016

Congrats to Formula 1 World Champion Nico Rosberg!

In a dramatic season ending race in Abu Dhabi, Nico Rosberg was crowned world champion for 2016 in Formula 1. Rosberg only finished second in today's race, but that was enough to maintain his points lead ahead of his team mate Lewis Hamilton. Considering that Hamilton is a three time champion himself, Rosberg had to overcome some stiff competition to take his first title today. Also interesting to know, Nico Rosberg's father Keke Rosberg also won the F1 title back in 1984. This makes the Rosberg family only the second father-son combo to take the title, joining Graham Hill (father) and his son Damon Hill.

This makes the third year in a row that a Mercedes driver has taken the title, with Rosberg adding on to the two in a row by Hamilton. In 2017 we will have a new set of regulations on car and engine construction, so it's likely that one of the other teams might come up with the best design and dominate just like Mercedes has done for three years in a row.

Behind Mercedes, the only teams that were almost close have been Red Bull and Ferrari. Finishing behind them in their best place ever is the Force India team in 4th this year. After that we have the Williams team, McLaren, and Toro Rosso. Back in 8th place is the new team this year, the USA's own Haas F1 team, so congrats to them on a great rookie season! At the back end of the grid were the Sauber, Renault, and Manor teams.

The 2017 season should be kicking off in Australia soon enough in March at the first race of the year.

Below are the final standings for drivers this year, and you can find out lots more about F1 at the official F1 website: F1

1 Nico Rosberg MERCEDES 385
2 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 380
3 Daniel Ricciardo RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 256
4 Sebastian Vettel FERRARI 212
5 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 204
6 Kimi Räikkönen FERRARI 186
8 Valtteri Bottas WILLIAMS MERCEDES 85
9 Nico Hulkenberg FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 72
10 Fernando Alonso MCLAREN HONDA 54
11 Felipe Massa WILLIAMS MERCEDES 53
12 Carlos Sainz TORO ROSSO FERRARI 46
13 Romain Grosjean HAAS FERRARI 29
14 Daniil Kvyat TORO ROSSO FERRARI 25
15 Jenson Button MCLAREN HONDA 21
16 Kevin Magnussen RENAULT 7
17 Felipe Nasr SAUBER FERRARI 2
18 Jolyon Palmer RENAULT 1
19 Pascal Wehrlein MRT MERCEDES 1
20 Stoffel Vandoorne MCLAREN HONDA 1
21 Esteban Gutierrez HAAS FERRARI 0
22 Marcus Ericsson SAUBER FERRARI 0
23 Esteban Ocon MRT MERCEDES 0
24 Rio Haryanto MRT MERCEDES 0

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.